Curried Carrot, Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup

IMG_3916I had a surprisingly busy day off today. I got all my meals prepped for the next 7 days, did the laundry I’ve been avoiding since we got back from vacation, wrote my meal plan for next week, did some serious furniture rearranging (which is harder than it sounds when you’re by yourself!) did some gardening and cleaned the house. Phew! After all that, I was ready for a quick and easy meal that was also delicious!

Since sweet potatoes have just recently begun to show up at the local Farmer’s markets, we have been loading up! I thought this would be the perfect occasion to use them. Although peeling sweet potatoes is a little tedious, they are a great ingredient for big flavor with very little prep (and, call me crazy, but I actually love peeling sweet potatoes — and our compost loves the peels!) 

For some sweetness and saturated fat, I added full-fat coconut cream, which is amazingly rich and decadent, but balanced out by the heat that comes in the form of cayenne pepper in this dish. This soup could probably even stand to take on MORE carrots than I added without being overpowered with carrot-y flavor. Again, I think the richness of the sweet potato and coconut cream balance that out really nicely. 

I hope you enjoy this spicy, silky treat!

Ingredients:

  • Dollop grassfed butter or coconut oil
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1inch fresh ginger, peeled and minced
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • Liberal pinch sea salt
  • Dash cayenne pepper
  • Dash smoked paprika
  • 5-6 large carrots, sliced
  • 3-4 sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 2 cups of your favorite broth (preferably homemade)
  • 1 cup coconut cream

Directions:

  1. In a large stockpot, heat butter or oil. Add onion, garlic, ginger, curry, salt, cayenne, and paprika. Cook until fragrant.
  2. Stir in carrots. Saute about 5-6 minutes.
  3. Add sweet potatoes and stir, sautéing an additional few minutes. 
  4. Pour in broth, bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer, and cover. Let simmer for 30 minutes.
  5. Stir in coconut cream. Let simmer another 15 minutes.

Serve warm. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Curried Carrot, Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup

Leave a comment